## MARRIAGE RECORDS OF SALINE COUNTY, KANSAS



MARRIAGE RECORDS FOR

6 DECEMBER 1860 - 15 JANUARY 1873

COPIED BY

EDITH SCOTT

MARRIAGE RECORDS FOR 16 JANUARY 1873 - 30 DECEMBER 1875 COPIED BY RUBY MAYDEN

PUBLISHED BY
SMOKY VALLEY GENEALOGICAL SOCIETY
AND LIBRARY, INC.
SUITE 205 - 211 WEST IRON
SALINA, KANSAS 67401

## INTRODUCTION

The State of Kansas was originally a part of the Louisiana Purchase. Kansas consists of 78,000 square miles. It is 400 miles east to west and 200 miles north to south.

The first attempt to establish a settlement in the present day Saline County was in 1856. The name given to this settlement was "Mariposa". It was located about five miles east of the present City of Salina. A log cabin and a well was the beginning and the end of "Mariposa".

In 1857, another attempt was made to establish a settlement near the mouth of the Solomon River. A number of log cabins were erected and the settlement was named "Buchanan". For a season it had a "local habitation". However, in a year or two "Buchanan" had vanished from the face of the earth.

The following year, in February 1858, Colonel William A. Phillips, a native of Scotland, formed a town company and was granted a charter from the Territorial Legislature. Phillips had persuaded a few friends and family members to join him in the settlement project. On the original charter, besides Phillips, appear the names of A. M. Campbell, James Muir, David Phillips and A. C. Spilman. David Phillips was a brother of William A. Phillips and replaced Robert Crawford, one of the original group who dropped out of the initial settling party. Spilman, Phillips' brother-in-law, is credited with suggesting Salina as a name for the new settlement.

Saline County was formed in 1860 as a part of the Kansas Territory.

On 29 January 1861, the State of Kansas was admitted to the Union. So, all marriages performed prior to that date actually occurred in Saline County, Kansas Territory.

Saline County is located almost in the center of Kansas. The County is bounded on the north by Ottawa County, on the east by Dickinson County, on the south by McPherson County and on the west by a portion of Ellsworth and Lincoln Counties.

There were only two townships in Saline County when it was formed: Elm Creek Township and Spring Creek Township. Elm Creek Township was the larger of the two. It began at the east county line and extended 24 miles south and 24 miles west, making it a perfect square. Spring Creek Township began at the west edge of Elm Creek Township and extended 24 miles south and 6 miles west to the county lines of Ellsworth and Lincoln Counties. The county functioned with the two townships until 1862. At that time Spring Creek Township was disorganized and Elm Creek Township then contained all of Saline County. As with any new county, many township changes occurred. The following changes of townships were made in Saline County from 1860 to 1880:

- Elm Creek Township was formed in 1860 as an original township.
- Spring Creek Township was formed in 1860 as an original township but was disorganized in 1862 and reorganized in 1869.
- Solomon Township was formed in 1867 from a part of Elm Creek.
- Walnut Township was formed in 1869 from part of Elm Creek.

- Falun Township was formed in 1871 from a part of Walnut.
- Ohio Township was formed in 1871 from a part of Spring Creek.
   Gypsum Township was formed in 1871 from a part of Spring Creek.
  - Liberty Township was formed in 1872 from a part of Walnut.
- Eureka Township was formed in 1873 from a part of Gypsum.
- Smoky Hill Township was formed in 1874 from a part of Elm Creek.
- Smoky View Township was formed in 1874 from a part of Elm Creek.
- Smolan Township was formed in 1874 from a part of Elm Creek.
- Washington Township was formed in 1874 from a part of Ohio.
- Pleasant Velley Township was formed in 1875 from a part of Spring Creek.
- Dayton Township was formed in 1877 from a part of Solomon.
- Cambria Township was formed in 1878 from a part of Elm Creek.
- Greeley Township was formed in 1879 from a part of Smoky Hill.
- Summitt Township was formed in 1880 from parts of Spring Creek and Falun.

By 1884, there were 17 post offices in the county: Assaria, in Smoky View Township; Bavaria, in Ohio Township; Berwick, in Walnut Township; Bridge, in Eureka Township; Bridgeport, in Smoky View Township; Brookville, in Spring Creek Township; Crown Point, on the Ottawa County line in Elm Creek Township; Dry Creek, in Falun Township; Gypsum Creek, in Gypsum Township; Salemsburg, in Smolon Township; Torry, in Eureka Township and Salina.

The first church in Saline County was organized 12 May 1860 by A. T. Rankin, Evangelist and William Bishop. Pastor of the Presbyterian Church at Lawrence, Kansas. It was a Presbyterian Church and had five members. They were: Mrs. Christina Phillips; Mrs. Christina Campbell; D. L. Phillips; W. W. Morrison and H. H. Morrison. Rev. A. A. Morrison was the first minister, followed six months later by Rev. William Bishop.

The Methodist Church was formed in 1865, with twenty members. The first pastor was Rev. E. C. Chilson.

In 1866, the Roman Catholic Church was formed by Father Louis Dumortier. The first regular priest was Father Fogarty of Solomon City.

The Baptist Church was formed in 1868, with fifteen members by Rev. J. R. Downer, who became the minister.

The English Lutheran Church was organized in 1868, with fifteen members, by Rev. J. C. Young, who became the first pastor and remained so until 1877.

The Episcopal Church was organized in 1870, at the store room of R. T. Watson. Meetings were held at various places until the church was erected. The first rector was Rev. Thomas B. Dooley.

The next church organized was the Swedish Lutheran in 1870. The church was organized by Rev. A. W. Dahlsten who became the first minister.

In March 1874, the Christian Church was organized with twenty-five members. The first pastor was Professor A. D. Goodwin.

These were the only churches in Salina during the period of marriage records included in this text.

## SALINE COUNTY, KANSAS MARRIAGE RECORDS

Saline County marriage records from 1860-1863 are recorded in Saline County Deeds and Mortgage Book A.

Saline County Marriage Records from May 1864 to the present are housed in the Smoky Valley Genealogical Society Library. The original records from 1864 to 1868 consist of handwritten notes on pieces of paper which include the marriage licenses and sometimes consents of marriages. When consents for marriages were needed, handwritten notes or letters gave permission for underage applicants.

The first printed certificate was issued on 11 March 1869. Affidavits were first issued on 1 October 1874. Beginning 26 May 1917 the marriage certificates were sent to The Bureau of Vital Statistics in Topeka, Kansas. Only the affidavits were retained in Saline County.

All original marriage licenses from 1864 to and including 25 May 1917 and affidavits from 1 October 1874 to 31 December 1987 are on file at The Smoky Valley Genealogical Society in Salina, Kansas. New affidavits are received from the Probate Court Office from time to time and are added to our collection.